Heavy kettlebell sets followed by Netflix and PALEO SNACKS!

I’m 6 weeks away from a big kettlebell sport competition in Novi, Michigan and my sets are getting heavier and longer.  I  have control sets (8-10 minutes of lifting, 7-8 reps per minute) on Sundays, and now that I’m lifting 18 or 20kgs, these sets are exhausting and I pretty much spend a couple of hours resting on my couch when I’m done.  I expect I’ll get use to the heavy sets, but until then I’m taking advantage of the downtime and enjoying Netflix- I’m almost through season 1 of Lost : )

I like a little snack while chilling out and these are my two favorites, one a bit spicy, one naturally sweet.

Sweet Potato Spears with Spanish Spice

Ingredients

2 medium-sized sweet potatoes.

1  tbsp. coconut oil.

Spanish dry spice mix or any spice combo you like.

*baking sheet and parchment paper

Instructions

*Preheat oven to 450°

*Add coconut oil to a pan and melt over low heat.

*You can peel them or just scrub the sweet potatoes and cut into spears by cutting in half lengthwise, then each half into 6 long pieces. If the potato is thick, cut the 6 spears in half lengthwise.   Place in large bowl.

*Add melted coconut oil to sweet potatoes and  mix until coated.

*Add spice mix and toss until spears are coated.

*Arrange on a baking sheet lined with parchment paper, leaving a little space between each spear (don’t layer them).

*Bake for about 15-20 minutes, or until crispy and starting to brown. Turn each spear over and bake for 15-20 minutes more or until browned and crispy.

Oven Roasted Beet Chips

Once again I bought a heap of beets at the farmer’s market, and in addition to roasting some, making soup, grating into salad, I also made beet chips.  You can find several recipes online and they are all pretty much the same, but I’ll give this Shout Out to the Civilized Caveman (<–click for his recipe). I added a little sea salt to mine, and melted coconut oil.

4 thoughts on “Heavy kettlebell sets followed by Netflix and PALEO SNACKS!

Leave a Reply

